Google want to know everything and probably know more than we think but now they have announced a new feature which retraces your steps,this is gradually being rolled out and is based from location services on your mobile device..Something i turn off also something which is set to default on first set up on a new Android device as a rule I always untick this….for some they might find this useful and perhaps not for others..the good news is that it is private and only you can see it.
“We hope you find Your Timeline a valuable and helpful tool as you explore the world around you.” says production manager ,hmmm….
Your Timeline allows you to visualize your real-world routines, easily see the trips you’ve taken and get a glimpse of the places where you spend your time. And if you use Google Photos, they will show the photos you took when viewing a specific day, to help resurface your memories.
Your Timeline is private and visible only to you; and you control the locations you choose to keep. This means you can easily delete a day or your full history at any time. You can edit any place that appears in Your Timeline, including removing a specific location or giving a frequented spot a private name like — Mom’s House or My Favorite Running Spot. This spot will then appear right in Google Maps when you’re logged in.
Available on desktop and Android, you can access Your Timeline if you’ve opted-in to store your Location History with Google. If you have this setting enabled, you may already be familiar with the useful experiences it can offer across our products, such as providing Now notifications when there are traffic incidents along your commute or reminding you where you parked your car. With Your Timeline, you have even more ways to view and control your location data. And with last month’s launch of My Account, you can easily access and manage your Location History setting and all your Google settings in one place.