This week 21 tech-leading organisations in the Cork region received word that they have been selected to go to through to the final stage of the judging process in the celebrated it@Cork Tech Leaders Awards 2019.

Making the announcement Anthony O’Callaghan, Chair of it@Cork, said,

We are delighted with the applications received for the 7 award categories this year, and the calibre of each and every submission brings home what we already know – that our IT sector is brimming with talent, ambition and innovation. Whittling it down to just 3 candidates per category was an unenviable task, which the judging panel spent hours upon hours poring over. Those who have been shortlisted this year were the standout IT leaders in an exceptionally talented pool, and they should be extremely proud of this achievement”.

The awards, which are in their 13th year, shine a light on those people who are leading the charge for the region’s tech community and are paving the way for the continued success of tech in the South West region.

Winners of the 7 categories will be announced at a Gala dinner to take place at the Rochestown Park Hotel on October 18th. The night will also see one person take home the coveted Tech Person of the Year Award, which, in the past, has been won by gamechangers of Ireland’s tech industry, such as Peter Coppinger and Daniel Mackey of Teamwork, and Dan & Linda Kiely of Voxpro.

it@Cork also announced the addition of the new “Trend Micro Excellence in Education Award”.

Mr. O’Callaghan added,

“We have added a hugely positive incentive to the award this year, with the winner receiving a prize to the value of €5,000, which can be used towards purchasing equipment to further their STEM initiatives. We collectively feel that this is a very important give-back initiative, one which the entire it@Cork community feel very strongly about, and we are thankful to the continued support of Trend Micro and in particular William Dalton and Avril Ronan, who jumped at the opportunity to support this initiative.”

Avril Ronan, Global Programme Manager Internet Safety, Trend Micro commented,

“We passionately promote cyber safety education and the positive use of technology in communities around the world. That’s why we seek to award the Excellence in Education award to the school that has not simply demonstrated the use of digital technology in class, but that also actively engages and promotes STEM; incorporating software and hardware development skills into the curriculum, prioritising teacher support and training to advance IT/ICT skills and sharing what they learn with those outside the school walls, right into local community, making a real difference. With open positions in the IT sector in Ireland at an all-time high, these schools are nurturing a sense of creativity and curiosity in their students, and hopefully a desire for a career in technology and so are helping us fill those open positions. This is why we applaud all of the schools who submitted applications for their foresight and leadership.” Shortlisted post-primary schools are Mayfield Community School, Coláiste Éamann Rís and St Brogan’s College.

This year will also see one company win the inaugural it@Cork Skillnet Best Workplace Award, which Mark Jordan (CTO) of Skillnet Ireland described as a “fantastic addition to the already broad accreditation base”,

A work environment can bring out the best or the worst in a team – we know we have the people and the skills in the region, but it’s up to the employers to foster a community of inclusion, personal development, and creativity in their workplace. And we know from working with employers that so many of them are excelling in this regard and are really delivering for their employees. We think their work should be commended and we hope that it may inspire others to follow suit or to learn from their best practices”. Shortlisted companies for this year are McKesson, Poppulo and VMware.

The theme of this year’s Leaders Awards is ‘Towards 2020’, which it@Cork say is a celebration of all the previous winners who have contributed immensely to the tech industry in the region, and a nod to the present and future leaders who will bring the Irish tech industry into the next decade.

An exciting addition to this year’s initiative is the opening of the new it@cork Tech Leaders Hall of Fame, into which all previous winners of the prestigious Tech Leader of the Year award will be inducted.

it@Cork Leaders Awards 2019 – Shortlist

  1. Excellence in Education (listed in main body text)

Mayfield Community School (post primary)

Coláiste Éamann Rís (post primary)

St Brogan’s College (post primary)


Gas Network Ireland



3 – Best Workplace Award (listed in main body text)




4 – MNC of the Year Award




5 – Smart Technology Innovation Award




6 – One to Watch




7 – Tech start-up of the Year

Apis Protect

Work Vivo

Swyft Energy


By Jim O Brien/CEO

CEO and expert in transport and Mobile tech. A fan 20 years, mobile consultant, Nokia Mobile expert, Former Nokia/Microsoft VIP,Multiple forum tech supporter with worldwide top ranking,Working in the background on mobile technology, Weekly radio show, Featured on the RTE consumer show, Cavan TV and on TRT WORLD. Award winning Technology reviewer and blogger. Security and logisitcs Professional.